What is it and why did we add it?
The option has been added to allow n4ce to shut down after a set period of time releasing any occupied license allowing other users to launch n4ce. The idea is simple, after a designated amount of idle time, n4ce will automatically close itself down, before completely closing down, a message will prompt the user to either Cancel the Shut Down process or to continue closing n4ce by clicking the Shut Down button. The Shut Down option releases both cloud licences and software license.
Where can I find it?
Ribbon bar version: Shut Down can be found as soon as you launch n4ce by selecting the Options tab and it's located on the right, last option on the row.
Classic version: In the classic version, Shut Down is named Idle Close and it can be found in the Settings drop down menu as you open n4ce under the Display Options (See below)
The default settings of the Shut Down option will be 60 minutes until the prompt and 1 minute until the complete close down process begins. To alter the parameters of the Shut Down option, you will need to open the General.ini file in notepad and change the following settings accordingly. The General.ini file can be found in the following folder, use the following path to copy and paste into your file explorer: C:\ProgramData\Applications in Cadd\n4ce\Settings.
Shut Down parameters explained
The settings below can be found within the General.ini file below [MouseTimer].
Enabled=1
(Entering 0 disables Shut Down and entering 1 enables it)
TimeAllowed=60
(Value in minutes allowed before the idle message appears)
ShutDownTime=1
(Value in minutes relating to the time it takes before n4ce shutdowns after the idle message has appeared)
What to expect
The prompted Shut Down warning below will come up after the indicated set time elapses (60 minutes as shown above), to continue using n4ce, simply click on Cancel and if you want to allow n4ce to close, click on the Shut Down button. Whilst n4ce is shutting down, it will simultaneously place a new copy of your project on your Desktop with a Prefix of "SHUTDOWN". You can then open the new project to ensure you are happy with the data that has been saved automatically and only then should you rename it and add it into the folder replacing the older version.
Note: Any project left unattended for the time set out in the general.ini file will have a SHUTDOWN project created for it on your desktop, it will never be created in the folder of the original project. The only time a SHUTDOWN project file will not be created is if a user opens a new n4ce project without any data but doesn't do anything in it. The reason for this, is because it unnecessary to create a SHUTDOWN project of an n4ce project without any data in it.
The newly shut down project will appear like the one to the right:
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.